Civitas Awards






June 2, 2017
Civitas Awards Annual Gala

Presented by Lockheed Martin


Congratulations to the 2017 Civitas Awards Winners!
Chamber Ambassador of the Year: Dawn Harris, Pink Magazine


Outstanding Lowcountry Young Professional: Lindsay Gifford, Pink Magazine
Award sponsored by University of South Carolina Beaufort
Outstanding Leadership Beaufort Alumni: Greg Rawls
Award sponsored by Ameris Bank
Historic Rehabilitation: 509 Carteret Street The Von Harten Building, J.H. Hiers Construction, LLC
Award sponsored by Beaufort Regional Chamber of Commerce
Outstanding Employee: Betsy Hinderliter, YMCA of Beaufort County
Award sponsored by OneBlood
Tourism Leadership: Penn Center, Inc.
Award sponsored by Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport
Volunteer of the Year: Norma Duncan
Award sponsored by Main Street Beaufort, USA
Outstanding Nonprofit: Friends of Caroline Hospice
Award sponsored by United Way of the Lowcountry
Community Stewardship: Sea Eagle Market
Award sponsored by The Beaufort Inn
Excellence in Free Enterprise: J.H. Hiers Construction, LLC
Award sponsored by Alliance Consulting Engineers, Inc.
Regional Economic Impact: Harris Pillow Supply, Inc.
Award sponsored by Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Military Citizenship: HM1 Donna Patrick, Navy (Ret)
Award sponsored by Technical College of the Lowcountry
Junior Enlisted Service Member of the Year: Lance Corporal Ashley A. Phillips
Award sponsored by T.W.E.A.C.
Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year: Sergeant David A. Waterfield
Award sponsored by Mr. & Mrs. James Boozer
Lifetime of Leadership: Colden R. Battey
Award sponsored by past recipients of the Lifetime of Leadership Award


2017 civitas nomination form

How do you submit a nomination?
You should first review the different categories being recognized. Look at the past award winners to see who had won (you can’t be nominated within 5 years of a win) and then fill out the nomination form as directed on the form. Once the nomination is received, we will then send the nominee a questionnaire for them to complete and return to us for the judging process. All nominees are invited to attend the event and they will receive one complimentary admission to join us.
All nominations have been accepted.